Newsletter Facebook Click here to find out more!

HELP NO SPARK, Chinese ATV w/ 5 pin CDI

User Name:
Password:
Join FREE Now!
Forgot Password?
Forgot User Name?
Remember Me
Home | Active Posts | Search | Register | Terms | FAQs
Rss
Item Posts    Sort Order

HELP NO SPARK, Chinese ATV w/ 5 pin CDI

NathanH1991 NathanH1991
New User | Posts: 1 | Joined: 03/10
Posted: 03/22/10
06:58 PM

Hello,

I am kind of new to this whole posting thing because all I used to do was reading the posts so I never registered. But I can't seem to find an answer to my problem so I have chosen to be a registered user.

So I got a Roketa 110cc china quad. I have no spark. I've got a lot of swapable parts since we have (3) of these dang ATV's. I know alot about the electrical system already and have a variety of good tools to choose from. If I hold the spark plug to a good ground and crank the engine I have no spark. Then, I can take the blk/wht wire out from the CDI module and crank engine, STILL NO SPARK. So I probably don't have a kill switch problem. I measured the AV volts coming from the coil under the flywheel (blk/red wire) while cranking and it will get up to about 56 VAC. I tested the pick up/trigger coil on DC and AC volts while cranking and I get 0.00 SOMETIMES 0.01 VAC. Arent I supposed to have about 0.05VAC? I tested the wire from CDI module to ignition coil (blk/y) and got nothing on either AC or DC volts. I think I have a good ground at the CDI module (solid green) to the battery (-/negative terminal) measures out to be 0.02 ohms resistance.

Help! I don't know what to do now and I still have no spark. Any advice is thankful.  

mikelm14 mikelm14
Guru | Posts: 895 | Joined: 07/09
Posted: 03/23/10
08:50 PM