Newsletter Facebook Click here to find out more!

HONDA 250r ATC 1982 - how do i identify the carb to buy a jet kit,

User Name:
Password:
Join FREE Now!
Forgot Password?
Forgot User Name?
Remember Me
Home | Active Posts | Search | Register | Terms | FAQs
Rss
Item Posts    Sort Order

HONDA 250r ATC 1982 - how do i identify the carb to buy a jet kit,

ACURAXXX ACURAXXX
New User | Posts: 1 | Joined: 05/09
Posted: 05/17/09
11:06 AM

Confused are all mikuni 38mm carbs the same? i bought a 82 honda 250r that someone just put an (used) aftermarket carb and reed cage on it, and blew it up the first 2 minuites i rode it. overheated and now there's almost no compression. im kinda new to messing with carbs & tuning 2 strokes. it's a gold mikuni 38mm(i think, i measured it with a measuring tape - not too precise) with a canister that has a hose running to the 3piece intake manifold. im assuming it was way too lean. what size jet should i start with when i get a new piston in it? i need a jet kit, but i dont know how to go about getting one for the carb, ive been finding them for the 82 250r, but the aftermarket carb will be differant, right? the trike has a stock bore as far as i know, but im not sure. i also have a dg pipe and silencer thats loud as he!!. i havent taken the top end off yet, so i dont know if i will need to bore it or not. ps, i mixed a high quality 2stroke oil with 89octane gas and octane booster 20:1. what size bore is stock. any help, or suggestions would be great, thanks.  

TrikeLvr TrikeLvr
New User | Posts: 2 | Joined: 11/09
Posted: 11/11/09
09:55 AM